FF select two but may add a third


As expected two Sligo nominees, Senator Marc Mac Sharry and Cllr. Eamon Scanlon, were selected to represent Fianna Fail at the next general election in the Sligo-Leitrim constituency, at a convention held in the Bee Park Community Centre in Manorhamilton last Friday evening.

But it has been suggested that Leitrim councillor Sinead Guckian could yet be added to the ticket to have a Leitrim candidate and it would also help the party’s gender quota requirement.

More than 600 members attended the convention which was chaired by Fianna Fáil Vice President and Spokesperson on Transport, Tourism & Sport Timmy Dooley TD.

Although eight people had been nominated, four of them, Senator Paschal Moone, Cllr Paddy O’Rourke and John Ellis from Leitrim and and Brid Ni Dholain from Killeshandra withdrew their names. Senator MacSharry was selected first, exceeding the quota of 200 by 75 votes. The other votes were Eamon Scanlon 157, Sinead Guckian 94 and John Paul Feeley 72.

Of MacSharry’s surplus Eamon Scanlon got 30, Sinead Guckian 40 and John Paul Feeley 5.

Eamon Scalon was selected on the third count on the elimination of Feeley.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)