Sligo trad group through to All-Ireland final


A group of Ursuline College students will be hoping to emulate the success of previous Sligo winners Spraoi, Teaspach and Iontas at the All-Ireland Final of Siansa Gael Linn.

MUSIC: The Sligo traditional group Beogacht will compete in the Siansa Gael Linn All-Ireland Finals on April 26.
MUSIC: The Sligo traditional group Beogacht will compete in the Siansa Gael Linn All-Ireland Finals on April 26.

Beogacht – musicians Sinéad Ní Bhroin, Enya Ní Oirealla, Alice Ní Phuirséil, Niamh Ní Chaomhánaigh, Niamh McKenna, Caitlín Ní Chonghalaigh, Daniel De Búrca and Emile Acheson (all bar Daniel are Ursuline students) – will compete in the finals taking place in the National Concert Hall, Dublin on Sunday, 26 April at 7.30pm.

The young musicians have qualified through two rounds of this prestigious competition since December last to clinch a much coveted place among the finalists. Although groups from the Ursuline College have regularly competed in Siansa Gael Linn over the years, this was the first time a group from the school has reached the final, to the delight of teacher and mentor Emer Prendergast.

Beogacht will compete along with seven other talented teenage groups hailing from Armagh to Abbeyfeale for a prizefund of €4,500.

Each group will perform their own 10-12 minute selection of traditional music and song on the night in what promises to be a fantastic concert. The winners will receive €2,500 and a specially designed trophy, with prizes of €1,250 and €750 going to second and third places respectively.

The concert will be broadcast live on RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta and compere for the evening will be the station’s popular broadcaster Áine Hensey. A special programme featuring highlights from the event will also be shown on TG4 on Wednesday, 6 May at 8pm.

Friends, family and Irish music lovers who would like to attend the finals in the National Concert Hall, can book tickets through the box office on 01-4170000 or via
Sligo has a proud history in relation to Siansa Gael Linn. In 2009 the group Spraoi, from Sligo Grammar School, won the award.

In 2012 Teaspach, also from Sligo Grammar, emerged with the title. And, just last year, Iontas, from Coola Post Primary in Riverstown, lifted the coveted trophy.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)